Shades Lengthen

In 2015 Hugh Brunt conducted the world premiere of LCO Composer-in-Association Edmund Finnis‘ violin concerto, Shades Lengthen, written for soloist Benjamin Beilman and the London Contemporary Orchestra. The programme included works by Kaija Saariaho, John Cage and Arvo Pärt, interwoven with mediaeval chant and Se Zephirus / Se Jupiter from the Codex Chantilly.

Trad. Tonus Peregrinus chant
Kaija Saariaho Sept Papillons
Magister Grimace (ed. Hugh Brunt) Se Zephirus / Se Jupiter: I
(Codex Chantilly – MS fol. 19: Ballade)
Edmund Finnis Shades Lengthen (world premiere)
(London Music Masters commission, supported by The Boltini Trust)
Arvo Pärt Annum per annum
Magister Grimace Se Zephirus / Se Jupiter: II
John Cage In a Landscape
Trad. Tonus Peregrinus chant

★★★★ “[‘Shades Lengthen’] was the centrepiece of a superb London Contemporary Orchestra concert in the incense-drenched cavern of St John-at-Hackney… Around it Hugh Brunt, the LCO’s conductor, constructed a gorgeous symmetry of music… All beautifully lit and staged for a big, enthusiastic audience.” The Times

Past performances:

St John at Hackney Church, London

8th January 2016
Soloist: Galya Bisengalieva

St John at Hackney Church, London
10th December 2015
Soloist: Benjamin Beilman